The first meeting of the Plymouth Historical Society took place November 12, 1975, presided by Neil O. Nielsen. Other original officers were vice president Florence Kardong, secretary Debbie Yngve, and treasurer Maxine Haarstick. It was at this meeting the members defined the organization and purpose of the Plymouth Historical Society: to discover, preserve, and disseminate historical knowledge about the City of Plymouth, Minnesota. Original membership fees were $3 for an individual and $5 for a family.
RESTORING OLD TOWN HALL
The Plymouth Historical Society’s first project was to secure funding for the restoration of the Old Town Hall, which is the home of the Plymouth Historical Society to this day.
Plymouth’s first Town Hall was built in 1885. Farmer Charles Farrington donated land for the site at what is now 3605 Fernbrook Lane N. The Town Hall’s fieldstone foundation was gathered from surrounding farms and wood was purchased from lumber mills in northeast Minneapolis. This modest white frame building, built for $2625, served as Plymouth’s Town Hall through the early 1960s.
As Plymouth grew and plans for a new City Center were drafted, the City converted the Old Town Hall to storage for recovered and confiscated property. By 1975, the building had fallen into disrepair.
A GOOD FOUNDATION
After securing the necessary restoration funding, the original building was temporarily moved off its foundation. Excavation began in September 1978. A new foundation with basement was constructed and the original building replaced within a month.
One year later, in September 1979, volunteers met to paint and put the finishing touches on the newly restored building.
Click on the dots above to view slideshow.